World Heritage Sites mean good news for the environment and culture!

 

Developing countries appeal for increase of their World Heritage sites

 

 

English.news.cn   2010-08-03 14:13:21 Feedback Print RSS

BRASILIA, Aug. 2 (Xinhua) — The imbalance in the number of sites inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List is a central issue to the future of the guiding convention, officials said Monday.

This issue was analyzed in debates since the beginning of the 34th meeting of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee on July 25, taking into account that most of the sites on the list belong to countries in Europe and North America.

Brazil’s Culture Minister and President of the Committee, Juca Ferreira, recalled that in his speech at the opening ceremony he had called for discussions about the reasons for inequality.

“I emphasized the imbalance on the List, with less presence of cultural assets of Africa, Latin America and Asia, hoping that the issue would be included in future discussions,” he said.

Developing countries have a growing voice in the discussions and there are already some signs that the situation began to change, said Francesco Bandarin, director of the World Heritage Center.

“It is important to notice an improvement of the situation: this year there are three new countries – Marshall Islands, Kiribati and Tajiquistan – in the World Heritage List,” he said.

In the same vein, Tim Badman, representative of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources, an advisory body of the committee, said there is a tendency to overcome this problem.

“When looking at the natural sites inscribed this year, it seems that the imbalance is greater, but indeed there is a change. The Papahanaumokuakea of the U.S. and the Reunion Island of France were inscribed in the list, but in reality they are located in Hawaii and the African continent,” he said.

http://news.xinhuanet.com/english2010/culture/2010-08/03/c_13427911.htm

13 thoughts on “World Heritage Sites mean good news for the environment and culture!

  1. I am typically to running a blog and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and hold checking for brand new information.

  2. There are some fascinating closing dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There is some validity but I’ll take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  3. My spouse and i felt very glad when Chris could complete his investigation using the ideas he got while using the web site. It’s not at all simplistic to just be freely giving points a number of people could have been making money from. And we all know we’ve got the writer to give thanks to for that. The illustrations you have made, the straightforward site navigation, the friendships you will help to foster – it’s many impressive, and it’s really leading our son in addition to the family reason why the article is interesting, and that is highly important. Many thanks for all!

  4. It was something of great contentment getting to your site yesterday. I got here this day hoping to come across new things. And I was not upset. Your ideas for new techniques on this subject matter were informative and a great help to me and my spouse. Thank you for leaving out time to write down these things and then for sharing your mind.

  5. Hello there. I just want to drop you a quick note to verbalize my thankfulness. I’ve been watching your site for couple of days and have got a heap of fantastic information and also appreciated the way you’ve built your website. I’m undertaking to create my weblog but I believe it is too basic and I need to target more on specific issues.

  6. Excellent website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks! Also, please check out my website http://status.synchaos.co.uk/Beachosmes

Leave a Reply

